School Council

The Westgarth Primary School Council is a group of eight parents, five Department of Education and Training employees (including the principal) and two co-opted members, including representation of the Parents and Friends Association.


The Council:

  • Develops the school's strategic plan and annual implementation plan.
  • Determines the school's general educational policy.
  • Approves and monitors the school's budget.
  • Supervises the management and maintenance of buildings and grounds.
  • Establishes our structure for consulting parents on decisions.
  • Reports annually to the Minister of Education and the school community through the Annual Report.Generally stimulates interest in the school.

The Council usually meets on the third Wednesday of the month at 7:00pm in the school staff room. Parents are welcome to attend school council meetings. If you would like to attend, please contact the office so that we can arrange for a school representative to welcome you to the meeting.


Click here for a list of school policies adopted by the Council

Click here to view the results of the Attitudes towards alcohol at WPS events survey



School Councillors

TBC President
Trisha Brice Vice President
Jacob Spencer Treasurer
Alev Bassilios  
Batya Atlas  
Adrienne Biscontin  
Kate Bassano  
Melanie Wheeler  
Kellie Burns  
Mark Dinning  

Jo Wheeler Principal - Executive Office
Carolyn Shiels Assistant Principal and Secretary
Ben Cunningham Leading Teacher
Jess Williams Business Manager
Megan Robertson Year 3/4 Teacher

Co-opted community members
Michele O'Connell Parents & Friends

Sub-committee conveners
Education committee Jo Wheeler
Environment committee Mark Dinning
Finance committee Jacob Spencer
OSHC committee Trisha Brice
Policy committee Alev Bassilios